23 awarded death penalty for killing 4 AL activists

MNA National Desk: A Narayanganj court has awarded death penalty to twenty three persons for the 2002 brutal murder of four Awami League activists.

The verdict was announced by Narayanganj Additional District and Sessions Judge Quamrunnahar on Wednesday.

Nineteen of the death row convicts were present when the judgement was pronounced, while four are absconding.

The four Awami League supporters were enticed away from their homes in Araihazar Upazila’s Jalakandi village on March 12, 2002 and hacked and burned to death, said Additional Public Prosecutor Jafrin Ahmed to the reporters.

After the delivery of the verdict, Additional Public Prosecutor has expressed satisfaction over the judgment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


PM Hasina urges countrymen to embrace spirit of sacrifice on Eid-ul-Azha

MNA National Desk: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has urged the people to espouse the virtue ...

Scroll Up