Dhaka Dynamites

Dhaka Dynamites clinch BPL title with 56-run win

MNA Sports Desk: Dhaka Dynamites clinched the Bangladesh Premier League, as they dismantled Rajshahi Kings to win by 56 runs in front of a full house in Mirpur.

This is the third triumph for a Dhaka franchise in four BPLs, with the Gladiators having won in the 2012 and 2013 editions.

Rajshahi, one of two new franchises this season, were left dejected after having made a late dash into the final by beating Chittagong Vikings and Khulna Titans in the playoffs.

Rajshahi won the toss and put Dynamites in to bat, who scored 159/9 in 20 overs. Opener Evin Lewis scored a 31-ball 45 with Kumar Sangakkara chipping in with a handy 36. Dwayne Bravo scored 13 before getting run out, while skipper Shakib Al Hasan down the order got a 7-ball 12. (Latest Cricket stories)

For Rajshahi, Farhad Reza returned with impressive figures of 3/28. Coming out for the run-chase, Rajshahi lost opener NurulHasan early for 5. But MominulHaque (27) and SabbirRahman (26) steadied things by putting up a 47-run stand for the second wicket.

Once both these batsmen fell, Rajshahi capitulated in the chase and eventually getting all out for 103. Shakib, Abu Jayed and Sunzamul Islam took two wickets each.

Brief scores:

Dhaka Dynamites:159/9 in 20 overs (Evin Lewis 45, Kumar Sangakkara 36; Farhad Reza 3-28)

Rajshahi Kings: 103 in 17.4 overs (MominulHaque 27, SabbirRahman 26; Abu Jayed 2-12, Sunzamul Islam 2-17, Shakib Al Hasan 2-30)

Man of the Match:   Kumar Sangakkara

Man of the Series: Mahmudullah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


Wolves reaches round 4 of FA Cup beating Liverpool

MNA Sports Desk: Premier League leaders Liverpool paid the price for fielding a weakened side ...

Scroll Up