Champions Trophy

India announce Champions Trophy squad

MNA Sports Desk: India finally announced their squad to defend the Champions Trophy after ending their battle with the world governing body over financial conditions.

Virat Kohli will lead India in the defence of their Champions Trophy in England and Wales from 1-18 June. India won the trophy during the last edition in 2013.

Opener Rohit Sharma, fast bowler Mohammed Shami and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin all return after recovering from injury. Former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and stylish left-hander Yuvraj Singh are also in the 15-man squad.

The squad was announced the day after India’s cricket board resolved its differences over revenue sharing with the sport’s international governing body the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had skipped the April 25 deadline for announcing a squad and threatened a pullout over its dispute with the ICC.


Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Kobe Bryant

NBA superstar Kobe Bryant died in helicopter crash with daughter Gianna

MNA Sports Desk: It’s hard to believe NBA superstar Kobe Bryant, whose prodigious talent and ...

Scroll Up