Nurul Huda

President appoints Nurul Huda as Chief Election Commissioner

MNA Editorial Desk: President Abdul Hamid on Monday constituted the new Election Commission (EC) making former secretary KM Nurul Huda the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

He also appointed four new election commissioners — former additional secretary Mahbub Talukder, ex-secretary Rafiqul Islam, ex-district and sessions’ judge Begum Kabita Khanam and Brig Gen (retd) Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury.

The President appointed them from the 10 names proposed by the search committee, said Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam at a press conference at the Secretariat around 9:30pm.

Of them, the President picked Nurul Huda, who went on retirement in 2006, for the post.

The search panel also proposed other eight names— Mahbub Talukder, Rafiqul Islam, Kabita Khanam, Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury, Dhaka University teacher Prof Dr Zarina Rahman Khan, local government expert Dr Tofail Ahmed, ex-planning commission member Abdul Mannan and BUP Pro-VC Nazmul Ahsan Kalimullah, Shafiul said.

Of the four election commissioners, Kabita Khanam’s name was in Awami league’s list while Mahbub Talukder’s name was there in BNP’s list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


Govt to brief diplomats Wednesday with Rohingya situation in focus

MNA Editorial Desk: The government will brief diplomats stationed in Dhaka on Wednesday on current ...

Scroll Up