power plants

PM inaugurates six power plants

MNA National Desk: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has inaugurated six power plants which have added some 1,062 megawatt (MW) electricity to the national grid.

Besides, she opened nine grid sub-stations, power supply to Sandwip upazila in Chattogram district through submarine cable, and cent per cent electrification of 12 upazilas.

The Prime Minister inaugurated these projects through a videoconferencing from her official residence Ganobhaban in the city on Wednesday.

The six power plants are- Sirajganj 282 MW Simple Cycle Power Plant, Bhola 225 MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chandpur 200 MW Power Plant, Ashuganj 150 MW Power Plant, Rupsha 105 MW Power Plant in Khulna, Julda 100 MW Power Plant (3rd unit) in Chattogram.

The nine grid sub-stations are Ramganj, Barishal (North), Baraiyarhat, Shikalbaha, Jaldhaka, Sunamganj, Bianibazar, Rangamati and Matarbari.

The 12 upazilas which came under cent per cent electricity coverage are Harinakundu, Thakurgaon Sadar, Baliadangi, Goalanda, Kalukhali, Bamna, Lakhai, Shaistaganj, Ajmiriganj, Bahubal, Melandah and Islampur.

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid and PM’s Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Adviser Dr. Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury spoke on the occasion.

Nasrul Hamid said 186 upazilas have come under cent per cent electricity coverage. There is also 80pc-90pc electricity coverage in the rest upazilas of the country.

“We hope we’ll be able to bring 100 per cent of all the upazilas under electricity network at the end of this year,” he said.

PM’s Principal Secretary Md Nojibur Rahman moderated the function, while Power Division Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus made a presentation on the development of the power sector in the last 10 years.

In his presentation, Dr Kaikaus said the country’s daily power generation capacity is 20,854 megawatt and 92 per cent people of the country have been brought under the electricity coverage.

The Secretary said Bangladesh has now been turned into a power surplus country from a deficit one thanks to inauguration of 100 new power plants in the last 10 years.

Awami League senior leaders Tofail Ahmed, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain and PMO Secretary Sajjadul Hassan were present.


Check Also


PM Hasina urges countrymen to embrace spirit of sacrifice on Eid-ul-Azha

MNA National Desk: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has urged the people to espouse the virtue ...

Scroll Up