Rangpur Riders

Rangpur Riders clinch BPL 2017 title

MNA Sports Desk: Caribbean batting giant Chris Gayle created the stage for Rangpur Riders for winning their maiden Bangladesh Premier League trophy.

Gayle became the first man on the planet to have 20 T20 hundreds as the belligerent left-hander smashed an unbeaten 146 off just 69 balls for Dhaka Dynamites in the Bangladesh Premier League final against Rangpur Riders. His knock helped Dhaka post a mammoth 206/1.

The Jamaican smashed 18 sixes during his knock to set a new record for the most sixes in a Twenty20 innings. He surpassed 11,000 runs in T20s and owned the highest individual score in a final of a T20 league.

In response Dhaka Dynamites could able to post 149 in 20 overs. Dhaka needed their big guns to fire, but all they could do is stage a miserable show. Rangpur skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza struck in the innings’ third ball to remove Mehedi Maruf before Dhaka could open their scoring, and in the next over Sohag Gazi sent Joe Denly back to the pavillion, with the score on 1.

Two overs later, Sohag cut dangerman Evin Lewis’s cameo short and Rubel Hossain removed Kieron Pollard in the next over to leave Dhaka on 29 for 4.

Shakib and Shahid Afridi needed to play their part now, if they were to steer clear of the danger, but both failed, falling victims to youngster Nazmul Islam, making 26 and 8 respectively.

Jahurul Islam fought alone with a 50 off 37 balls, but it was Rangpur’s day and they clinched their first ever BPL title.

Gayle was adjudicated the player of the match, and with two centuries in this BPL, had no rival to win the player of the tournament award.


Check Also


Bangladesh finish Women’s World T20 with defeat

MNA Sports Desk: Bangladesh women’s cricket team finished their Women’s World T20I with all losing ...

Scroll Up