Shakib, Mushfiq in ESPNcricinfo’s Test Team

MNA Sports Desk: Bangladesh Test skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan have been once again rewarded for their stellar performance in the longer version of the game in the last year, this time being named in ESPNcricinfo’s Team of the Year.

Shakib made 665 runs at an average of 47.50 last year besides taking 29 wickets while Mushfiq made 766 runs at an average of 54.71. The latter, the wicket-keeper in the team, also had 14 dismissals to his name.

A report on the ESPNcricinfo website read, “The top five batsmen combined are good for 300 runs on average. If the contrasting styles of openers Dean Elgar and David Warner don’t frustrate the opposition’s bowlers, Cheteshwar Pujara certainly will.

After which Steven Smith and Virat Kohli will set about destroying everything in front of them. The bowlers in the XI are incisive, asking questions, if not felling batsmen who stand in their way. James Anderson, of the 500-wicket club, and the new-and-improved Nathan Lyon will lead the attack, while Neil Wagner and Shakib Al Hasan provide left-arm fast and spin options.”

The team

Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Virat Kohli (India), Steve Smith (Australia), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England) and Neil Wagner (New Zealand).


Check Also


Bangladesh finish Women’s World T20 with defeat

MNA Sports Desk: Bangladesh women’s cricket team finished their Women’s World T20I with all losing ...

Scroll Up