Sheikh Hasina’s 71st birthday today

MNA Editorial Desk: Today (Thursday), 28 September, marks the 71st birthday of prime minister and Bangladesh Awami League president Sheikh Hasina.

Sheikh Hasina, the eldest of the five children of father of the nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and Begum Fazilatunnesa, was born at Tungipara of Gopalganj in the then Faridpur district on this day in 1947.

Awami League and its affiliated organizations are scheduled to be celebrating the day through organising various humanitarian events and activities and discussions on the life and achievements of Sheikh Hasina.

There will also be cultural events and milad and doa mahfils in the capital city and in different parts of the country, reported news agency.

Special prayers at mosques, temples, churches, pagodas and other religious places across the country will also be offered seeking divine blessings for good health and long life of the premier, who is now in the United States in connection with the 72nd United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) session. The prime minister will return home on 5 October.

After the two year-long democratic vacuum created by what known as 1/11 interim government, the people of Bangladesh voted Awami League-led grand alliance to power with a landslide victory in the general elections on December 29, 2008. Sheikh Hasina once again became the Prime Minister of Bangladesh for the second time, ushering in a new era of democracy in the country.

In recognition of her leadership excellence and intellectual finesses, Sheikh Hasina has been conferred with-

Honorary Doctor of Laws by the Waseda University of Japan

Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy in Liberal Arts by University of Abertay Dundee, UK

Honorary Degree of Desikottama by Visva-Bharati University of West Bengal, India

Honorary Doctor of Laws, by the Australian National University

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters by the Bridgeport University, USA

Honorary Doctor of Laws by the University of Dhaka, Bangladesh

Paul Haris Fellowship by the Rotary International

UNESCO’s Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize, 1998

M K Gandhi Award, 1998

Mother Teresa Award, 1998 and 2006

Pearl S. Buck Award by Randolph Macon Women’s College of USA, 1999

CERES Medal, 1999

UN Award for MDG achievement (child mortality), 2010

Indira Gandhi Peace Prize, 2009

South-South Award, 2011

UN Award for MDG Achievement, 2013

Rotary Peace Prize, 2013

Tree of Peace, 2014

ICT Sustainable Development Award, 2015

Champions of the Earth, 2015

Agent of Change Award, 2016

Planet 50-50 Champion, 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Awami League

Budget 2019-20: Prospect of dual focus on infrastructure and human indices

MNA Editorial Desk:Today the National Parliament will go into the budget session for 2019-20 fiscal. ...

Scroll Up