Three scientists win Nobel Chemistry Prize

MNA Science Desk: The 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Frances H. Arnold and the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter on Wednesday for their work harnessing the power of evolution to develop proteins that solve humankind’s chemical problems, reports news agency.

A committee member explains that the scientists have ‘applied the principles of Darwin in the test tube.’

Chemistry is the third of this year’s Nobels and comes after the prizes for Medicine and Physics were awarded earlier this week.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the trio managed to harness the power of evolution, applying the principles of Darwin in test tubes, to solve some of the world’s worst problems.


Check Also


Rajapaksa to resign as Sri Lanka’s premier to end crisis

MNA International Desk: A Sri Lankan lawmaker said that disputed Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa will ...

Scroll Up