Winners of 2018 Pulitzer prizes announced

MNA Entertainment Desk: The New York Times and The New Yorker have jointly won the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for public service for their reporting on exposing powerful and wealthy sexual predators, including allegations against Hollywood movie maker Harvey Weinstein.

Pulitzer Prize administrator Dana Canedy announced the winners of the 2018 Pulitzer Prizes at the Columbia University on Monday in New York City, news agency reported on Tuesday.

The New York Times also shared the honour for national reporting with The Washington Post for their coverage of the investigation into Russian involvement in the 2016 US presidential election.

The Press Democrat of Santa Rosa, California, won the breaking news award for coverage of the wildfires that swept through California’s wine country last fall.

The Arizona Republic and the USA Today Network took the Explanatory Reporting prize for their reporting on US president Donald Trump’s proposed border wall.

The Pulitzers, the most prestigious honours in American journalism, have been awarded since 1917. Public service award winners receive a gold medal, and the other awards carry a prize of $15,000 each.


Check Also

Rose McGowan

Rose McGowan sues Weinstein over ‘silencing attempts’

MNA Culture & Entertainment Desk: Actress Rose McGowan has filed a lawsuit against Harvey Weinstein, ...

Scroll Up