Pradeep Kumar Das

Arrest warrants issued against nine policemen in Ex-Major Sinha killing

MNA Editorial Desk: A Cox’s Bazar court issued warrants for the arrest of nine policemen including officer-in-charge of Teknaf Model Police Station Pradeep Kumar Das in a case over the killing of Major (retd) Sinha Md Rashed Khan in Teknaf.

Senior Judicial Magistrate Tamanna Farah issued the arrest warrants against them after taking the case into cognizance on Wednesday.

The other accused in the case are inspector of Baharchara Police outpost Liakat Ali, sub-inspector Nandolal Rakkhit, Sub-inspector Tutul, assistant sub-inspector Liton Mia, constable Shafanur Karim, constable Kamal Hossain, constable Abdullah AL Mamun, and constable Mohamamd Mostafa.

Earlier, a case was filed against the nine policemen over the killing of Major (retd) Sinha.

Sharmin Shahrier Ferdous, elder sister of Sinha, filed the case with Teknaf Senior Judicial Magistrate Court on Wednesday, said senior lawyer Mohammad Mostafa.

Senior Judicial Magistrate Tamanna Farah asked the authorities concerned to submit the probe report within seven working days. Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) will investigate the case.

Sinha was killed in police firing at Baharchhara police check-post on July 31.

Two people were arrested and two separate cases were filed in this regard, Superintendent of Police ABM Masud Hossain said Saturday.

The Home Ministry formed a four-member committee, headed by Mizanur Rahman, additional divisional commissioner (development), on August 2.

The authorities on Sunday suspended 21 police officers, including the in-charge of Baharchhara police outpost, in connection with the killing.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Tuesday assured the mother of Major Sinha of proper investigation into the murder of her son and the trial of his killers.

PM’s Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim said the Prime Minister called up Sinha’s mother and consoled her.


Check Also


Army chief describe killing of ex-major Sinha as ‘isolated incident’

MNA Editorial Desk: Chief of Army Staff of Bangladesh Army General Aziz Ahmed and Inspector ...

Scroll Up