Chittagong Vikings

Sammy’s blitz eliminates Chittagong Vikings from BPL

MNA Sports Desk: Darren Sammy blitzed a 27-ball 55 to lead Rajshahi Kings to the second qualifier after they beat Chittagong Vikings by three wickets in Mirpur in the Eliminator of Bangladesh Premier League on Tuesday.

Rajshahi recovered from 57 for 6 to chase down 143 in 18.3 overs after Sammy put on 37 and 49 with Mehedi Hasan and Farhad Reza respectively. Chittagong were knocked out of the competition.

As soon as he struck the winning runs, the Rajshahi players celebrated in their unique style of pretending to take group photos and selfies.

Put into bat first, Chittagong posted 142 with Tamim Iqbal hitting 51 and Chris Gayle making 44 off 30 balls. However, failure of the other batsmen meant they could only post a modest total of 142 for 8, a score the Kings chased successfully in the end.

Shoaib Malik and Tamim Iqbal, who made a record equaling sixth fifty in the BPL, lofted catches into the cover region before Mohammad Nabi was brilliantly run out by a Sabbir Rahman throw from the deep midwicket boundary in the penultimate over.

Brief Score:

Rajshahi Kings:                  143-7 (Sammy 55*, Sajib 2-24)

Chittagong Vikings:         142-8 (Tamim 51, Gayle 44, Williams 4-11)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Liton Das

Liton, Tamim tons script Bangladesh’s series sweep

MNA Sports Desk: Liton Das struck a highest individual score by a Bangladeshi batsman while ...

Scroll Up