Tim Paine named ODI captain for England tour

MNA Sports Desk: Test captain Tim Paine will lead Australia’s one-day side for their limited-overs tour of England in June. Wicket-keeper Paine replaces Steve Smith – who was banned by Cricket Australia for a year following the ball-tampering scandal – for the five-match series.
His vice-captain, batsman Aaron Finch, will lead the Twenty20 side in their sole match against England.
National selector Trevor Hohns said a permanent ODI captain would be appointed “in due course”.
The tour of England, which runs from 13-27 June, will be Justin Langer’s first assignment as head coach.
Batsman D’Arcy Short, who has five T20 appearances for Australia, has been named in the ODI squad for the first time, while uncapped duo Mitchell Swepson and Jack Wildermuth are in the T20 squad.
Pace bowlers Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins will both miss the tour with injury but Test off-spinner Nathan Lyon, who last played a limited-overs match for Australia in 2016, has been included.
“Nathan is not new to white ball cricket and deserves his chance to push for World Cup selection,” Hohns said.
“England potentially have a number of left-handers in their side and we look forward to seeing what he can produce with the white ball in English conditions.”
Australia will travel to Zimbabwe after the series against England to play the hosts and Pakistan in a T20 tri-series from 1 July.
Australia ODI squad: Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Aaron Finch (vice-capt), Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (capt & wk), Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye.
Australia T20 squad: Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vice-capt & wk), Aaron Finch (capt), Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth.

Check Also

Liton Das

Liton, Tamim tons script Bangladesh’s series sweep

MNA Sports Desk: Liton Das struck a highest individual score by a Bangladeshi batsman while ...

Scroll Up